Marriage

We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the game.

When Corey got home from work, he handed me a folded up piece of paper. The only explanation I was given was, “this is for you.” When I opened it, I was really confused. It was a special request chit, which is something typically used in the military to ask for time off. This specific one just had a place and a time period filled in for this afternoon. I didn’t understand.

I asked what it was for. Corey explained that the guys from work wrote it up for him, so he could go to the shooting range with them. It was to get permission from me. I was even more confused. I am probably one of the least demanding spouses; I ask for nothing.

So, I asked if that was supposed to imply that I’m some kind of controlling wife..? I have no idea how Corey describes me to his friends. As usual, Corey got mad, called me defensive and said I can’t take a joke. He said he knew he didn’t need permission from me to do anything and he does what he wants.

The thing that probably bothered me the most, besides the unnecessary passive aggressiveness, was that we were supposed to go shopping that afternoon. For Corey. Because he wanted me there to help him pick out clothes for a job interview. That I wrote his resume for. That he delayed doing the day before even though he got home from work early.

He also went to the range after work earlier in the week with one of his work friends. And then came home and played video games for a few hours. I did not complain, not once. But, I’m the bad guy, or implied bad guy? Not sure how that works.

I stopped complaining a long time ago. I guess in some way, I’ve resolved myself into believing that this is just my life, the cards I’ve been dealt. Spoiler alert: it’s not a winning hand.

Leave a comment